So, this is my Blog, my thoughts / feelings / ideas. You may comment if you like. If you attack me, I come back at you with reckless / racist / suicidal abandon. If you compliment me, I thank you. If you don't ever visit again I don't care. Other than that, just enjoy what I write, or not.

LIU - Look It Up!


Monday, June 21, 2010

Internet sites, and spam sites

This past weekend I discovered for the first time, a spam site. This is a typical copy cat site, which looks like the original thing, but I suppose that if you try to buy anything off of it, you will get raped (financially that is).
Anyway, the Princess really needs a new hair straightener, and everyone has said she should get a GHD.
So I searched for GHD Hair Straighteners online. I found their "Official" site, registered and looked for the product she is wanting. But before entering my credit card details, the Princess said that it didn't sound right. How can a product that sells for ZAR 1800 - ZAR 3500 in the store, sell for ZAR850 online?

Damn right I said, lets have another look. I searched for GHD internationally, and in this page for their South African site, and found to my surprise a similar looking page, but without the discounted prices!!!!
So I registered on their site, searched for local stores, and found a list of dealers who sell this thing locally. So the Princess will get one from a store.

However, I have since got two emails, one from each of the sites that I registered on.
I am posting them here.
This one from the spam site:-

Welcome to our website:http://www.ghdsouthafrica.com/
From: Bugang Trade
To: XXXX@yahoo.com

Dear Mr/Miss ,
Thanks for you visiting our site http://www.ghdsouthafrica.com/.
We have found that you have created an account,but you have not purchased any item.
We want to know if you have any questions on our products or service.
1.Are you not satisfied with our products or have a doubt on price?
2.Or you are worried about the privacy,shipping or our service.
We want to tell you that do not worry about these problems.
we will ship the item asap after we have received your order and the payment.
Besides,we provide free shipping and fast delivery.
and we can give you more discount if you purchase more products.
hope you can seize such good opportunity without hesitation.
any questions you can feel free to contact us,we will reply you asap.

Now, I don't know if it's just me being suspicious, but don't you think that a representative of this company would have a relevant email address? Whats with this email address then?:- bugang.ghd@gmail.com

And this from what I assume must be the official site:-
Welcome to GHD South Africa
From: GHD South Africa

To: XXXX@yahoo.com
Dear XXX

We wish to welcome you to GHD South Africa.

With your account, you can now take part in the various services we have to
offer you. Some of these services include:

Permanent Cart - Any products added to your online cart remain there until
you remove them, or check them out.

Address Book - We can now deliver your products to another address other
than yours! This is perfect to send birthday gifts direct to the
birthday-person themselves.

Order History - View your history of purchases that you have made with us.

Products Reviews - Share your opinions on products with our other customers.

For help with any of our online services, please email the store-owner:


GHD South Africa
Store Owner


Something tells me the second email is legitimate. What do you guys think?
herewith my email to the legitimate site:-
Thanx for this.
Whilst searching for your site I found what is obviously a spam site for your products. i went through the whole registration process, and nearly bought the product, at which point something told me to recheck. Luckily I had not yet loaded my credit card details.
Not sure if you are aware of them, but I also got an email from them following my registration.
Do you want the details of their site? I'm sure they are taking a lot of your business, and probably causing your brand a lot of harm?
if interested, please respond to this email, and I will send you the details.

So, I await their response and see if I have have a hand in nailing some cheating mother fucker!!


1 comment:

Divemaster Dad said...

What's the first thing that tells you whether or not a site is genuine??.........spelling mistakes.

And Bugang, if I am not mistaken, is somewhere in Papua New Guinea, so the scam is probably being run from there...